"We have become an island of lost landmarks. Fire, storm, tide and general obsolescence have claimed nearly all of them. The big hotels, the boardwalk, the gunning clubs, the train, the old causeway and even Tucker’s Island itself have all vanished. All we have are photographs and the memories of those people who were here and who lived through these changing times...."

— from the Preface

Eighteen Miles of History
On Long Beach Island

By John Bailey Lloyd

"The past is brought to life in this loving history ..."

— the first edition, as described by The Record of Hackensack

204 pages, 237 illustrations, photographs, and maps; index and bibliography
$38.00 hardcover
ISBN 0945582-17-X


BOOK DESCRIPTION

Rediscover the lost resort of Sea Haven and Tucker’s Island; ride the Tuckerton and Long Beach Railroad to the new resort of Beach Haven with its elegant boardwalk — just a fashionable stroll over broad dunes from grand hotels such as the Engleside and Baldwin. Visit the early gunning and yacht clubs; stay at the Mansion of Health or Captain Bond’s Long Beach House. Learn of the shore whalers, some of the first settlers on this barrier island, and watch the pound fishermen haul in boats brimming with fish caught just off the beach. See tragic shipwrecks, such as the Powhatan, and the birth of the U.S. Life Saving Service with its “red houses” dotting the beach.

Eighteen Miles of History and Six Miles at Sea are two elegant companion books that explore much of the history of the Jersey Shore by focusing on the barrier island of Long Beach. The Shore of today may be strikingly different from that of a century ago, but it is images of the past — an innocent and wilder Shore — that cement our present-day bond with this place. Modern-day shore lovers will find their long-ago counterparts here.

These 11" x 8 1/2" landscape-format books are generously illustrated with historic photographs, old engravings, and maps. Most of the photographs are reproduced from original prints as duotones, and the hardcover books are luxuriously printed on matte stock. ( Twenty -two of the most compelling images from these two books are available as postcards in book format - see Long Beach Island Historical Postcards.)

Both titles take us back to a unique place at the sea’s edge and the people who came to know and love it. The two books explore the same time and place but the topics differ. Together, they give us an opportunity to rediscover this beautiful, sometimes dangerous, more personal Shore of only a few generations ago. In two books rich with images and wonderful writing, we come to have a sense of place about the Shore that a summer vacation alone can never convey.


EXCERPT 1 | EXCERPT 2 | EXCERPT 3

Contents

The Shore Whalers

Tucker’s Island

Town on the Edge of Great Swamp

The Philadelphia Company House

The Mansion of Health

When Barnegat Light Was Barnegat City

The Powhatan, The Mansion, The Monument

The Red Houses of Long Beach

Dock Road: First Entrance to Beach Haven

The Harvey Cedars Hotel

Captain Bond's Long Beach House

The Parry House

The Engleside: 1876-1943

The Hotel Baldwin: 1883-1960

The Manahawkin and Long Beach Railroad

The Peahala Gunning Club

The Corinthian Yacht and Gun Club

The Automobile and “The Lure of Long Beach”

The Houseboat Colony at Beach Haven

The Boardwalk at Beach Haven

The Pound Fishermen

Camp Miquon

Harry Colmer of the Movies

Long Beach Township

The Island's Houses of Worship

The Beach Haven Free Public Library

Deep Sea Fishing Capital of the East

Sand and Water — Eighteen Miles of Beaches

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

John Bailey Lloyd was born in Johnstown, PA., and had been on Long Beach Island since 1942, when he was ten years old — in time to see old landmarks like the boardwalk, the Engleside Hotel and the vast emptiness of the Island as it once was. With time out for service in the Coast Guard, graduate school and some travel, he has spent nearly every summer here. In 1977 he and his wife, Jeanette, and their two sons became permanent residents and moved into the family's Victorian summer home in Beach Haven.

A graduate of Mount St. Mary's College in Emmitsburg, Maryland, Mr. Lloyd had a master's degree in English from the University of Michigan and a master's in library science from Rutgers University. He worked in the reference department at the Ocean County Library in Toms River, and the Bishop Historical Library there.

OTHER BOOKS BY JOHN BAILEY LLOYD
Long Beach Island's premier historic videos!
“Six Miles at Sea” and “Tucker's Island”, and Barnegat Light and Barnegat City are historical documentaries based on John Bailey Lloyd's writings.
P.O. Box 3100, Harvey Cedars New Jersey 08008
email info@down-the-shore.com • fax (609) 597-0422

Copyright © 2004 Down The Shore Publishing Corp. The words "Down The Shore" and logo are a registered U.S. Trademark.